BBC Sound of 2015

Avatar photo

7 December 2014

By NEBeep

The long list for BBC sound of 2015 has been selected. The list was put together using tips from 139 industry experts, who each named their three favourite acts.

The rules are that nominees aren’t allowed to be well-known to the UK public or were recently involved in a successful band.

The 15 acts that have been nominated are George the Poet, James Bay, Kwabs, Lapsley, Novelist, Rae Morris, Raury, Shamir, Shura, Slave, Years and Years, Stormzy, Sunset Sons, Soak and Wolf Alice.

All but two of the nominees are British, with R&B singer Shamir and rapper Raury representing the US.

The long list will be narrowed down to five in the week of January 6, the winner will be named on January 11.

Recent BBC Sound Winners:
2003 – 50 Cent
2004 – Keane
2005 – The Bravery
2006 – Corrine Bailey Rae
2007 – Mika
2008 – Adele
2009 – Little Boots
2010 – Ellie Goulding
2011 – Jessie J
2012 – Michael Kiwanuka
2013 – Haim
2014 – Sam Smith

Like this article? Please share!