Fifa Ballon d’Or

Avatar photo

13 January 2015

By NEBeep

Real Madrid’s main man Cristiano Ronaldo won his third FIFA Ballon d’Or title after receiving more votes than Argentine forward Lionel Messi and Germany’s goal keeper Manuel Neuer for the 2014 accolade.

Ronaldo received 37.66% of the votes whilst second and third place was extremely close between Messi and Neuer, with Messi receiving 15.76% of the votes and Neuer receiving 15.72%.

Ronaldo scored 52 goals in 43 games in 2014, so it was no surprise when he landed the award for the third time.

All three competitors were included in the team of the year, Real Madrid, along with defenders Phillip Lahm, David Luiz, Thiago Silva and Sergio Ramos, midfielders Andres Iniesta, Toni Kroos, Angel De Maria and forward Arjen Robben.

Germany’s midfielder Nadine Kessler was named female player of the year beating United States international Abby Wambach.

23 year old James Rodriguez won goal of the year narrowly beating Irish woman Stephanie Roche.

Stephanie landed 33% of the votes, Rodriguez won 42% of the public vote and Manchester United striker Robin Van Persie only received 11% of the vote leaving him in third place.



Like this article? Please share!